the best project ever made in the history of projects across time and space

There are only a handful of television shows that can get me cackling out loud like a mad scientist – The Mindy Project is one of them.

I accidentally stumbled upon this gem in 2012, when it first premiered. I was immediately hooked, and have watched all three seasons one or two (or ten) times.

TMP follows the life of Mindy Lahiri, a talented obstetrician/gynecologist, as she is faced with a hoopla of personal, professional and dating problems. Working at Shulman & Associates, a small medical practice in NYC, Mindy is surrounded by a group of kooky, but side-splitting co-workers whom she deeply ingrains in her dating life and drama.

video credit: Tumblr

Speaking of Mindy’s dating life, TMP features a whole slew of impressive actors, including Anders Holm (from Workaholics), Glenn Howerton and Rob McElhenny (from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia), Bill Hader, bromantic couple Seth Rogen and James Franco, Ed Helms, B.J. Novak, and Max Greenfield (from New Girl).

Along with the emotionally fickle Mindy, the show focuses on a few other amusing characters: Jeremy Reed, the only slightly promiscuous British supervisor who is addicted to sweets; Danny Castellano, the old man and party pooper of the office; Morgan Tookers, the registered nurse who has been to prison, but has a tattoo reminder on his stomach to never steal cars again; and Peter Prentice, a new gynecologist who may or may not have been fired from his last employer for drunkenly having sexual relations with a Christmas tree.

Each character is down-to-earth and riddled with flaws, which makes them all oddly more appealing and relatable. Mindy in particular is super satirical and uses her raw sense of humour to discuss the unfortunate happenings in her daily life.

The cinematography is very New Girl-esque.

I would strongly recommend this show to anyone who enjoys random humour and doesn’t mind listening to someone with a bad case of verbal diarrhea.

9/10 – have watched this show a hundred times over.

About ashleysnetpicks

Hello, my name is Ashley. I completed my undergrad at McMaster University in Communications, and am now working towards a public relations certificate. I’ve also had the chance to work with some really great organizations in the field, including the Canada Border Services Agency, Bayer Inc. and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. On a more personal level, I enjoy playing sports, reading and spending time with friends. I also have a “minor” Netflix addiction that I’ve decided to make use of through the majesty of blogging. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the best project ever made in the history of projects across time and space

  1. Pingback: the best project ever made in the history of projects across time and space | neilsflix

  2. I just started Mindy a few weeks ago because my friends couldn’t stop talking about it. I love me a good sitcom and they are a dying breed (the good ones anyway) If find her really refreshing and funny. Looking forward to more recommendations!

    Like

  3. Chris Penner says:

    I share a Netflix account with a friend across town (which I was unaware of at the time) and saw I had previously viewed the Mindy Project. Thought it was strange but I gave it a shot on a Sunday morning.. I finished season two on the Wednesday night. Needless to say it was awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

