who’s that girl?

It’s Jess!

I’m not going to lie; I was initially drawn to this dramedy because I have a huge girl crush on Zooey Deschanel. Who doesn’t love those giant doe-eyes?

photo credit: http://www.people.com

New Girl kicks off with Jessica Day (Zooey Deschanel), an eccentric and girlish elementary school teacher, sharing the story of why she’s looking for a new apartment. After a few seconds of deliberation (and a “no bang” pact to boot), the three male roommates accept Jess into their weird family.

Premiering in 2011, the American sitcom revolves around Jess and her new friends Nick (Jake Johnson), Schmidt (Max Greenfield), and Winston (Lamorne Morris), as they’re faced with new careers, relationships and experiences.

photo credit: newgirl.wikia.com

Nick is a jaded and grumpy bartender who acts like he’s 60, Schmidt is a materialistic businessman who prides himself on his knack with the ladies, and Winston is a former Latvian basketball player who sort of, well, just helps move the plot along. Together with Jess, a bubbly and naive girly-girl obsessed with sparkles and rainbows, they provide their viewers with offbeat humour that will leave them wishing that they were part of the core four.

It was easier than I imagined to feel so connected to a girl that has adorable farm animals on her cheques. Give New Girl a chance!

8.5/10 – the type of show I could re-watch over and over again and still find new jokes to laugh at.

About ashleysnetpicks

Hello, my name is Ashley. I completed my undergrad at McMaster University in Communications, and am now working towards a public relations certificate. I’ve also had the chance to work with some really great organizations in the field, including the Canada Border Services Agency, Bayer Inc. and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. On a more personal level, I enjoy playing sports, reading and spending time with friends. I also have a “minor” Netflix addiction that I’ve decided to make use of through the majesty of blogging. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to who’s that girl?

  1. omg I love new Girl. I watch it on Netflix all the time. Last winter I watched it for hours with my cousin to the point that I got sick of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My friends at work and I used to quote the show all the time. We all love Schmidt and Jess

    Like

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Obsessed with this show. Mindy Project is a close second…a very very close second.
    Schmidt forever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

