big time cred to the walking dead

Last night’s season premiere got me in the mood to review this net-pick!

I guess you could consider me a “walker stalker” when it comes to AMC’s The Walking Dead (TWD). To be honest, I only started watching the series in season three, but have since developed an unhealthy obsession with the show.

The Walking Dead is a post-apocalyptic horror drama television series, based on a comic book by the same name. TWD revolves around Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), the survivor-man and leader of the show, who makes it his personal mission to keep his family and new friends alive in a world ravaged by disgusting, flesh-eating zombies.

photo credit: cdn.fansided.com/

Premiering in 2010, TWD is currently in its fifth season, and has been renewed for a sixth.

Now, I’m the first to admit that I’m a huge baby when it comes to all things horror. I blame it on my babysitter who made me watch Mars Attacks when I was six. I can, however, handle The Walking Dead. Don’t get me wrong, the zombie scenes are absolutely repulsive and there is plenty of blood, guts and gore, but it’s manageable.

Warning: TWD is extremely graphic; you see everything from zoomed in shots of disgusting head-piercing deaths inflicted on zombies, to “walkers” frenziedly feasting on human remains. The latter is especially gross; it looks like I do when a full rack of ribs is placed in front of me.

8.5/10 – in a zombie-eat-zombie world, The Walking Dead comes out on top in my books.

About ashleysnetpicks

Hello, my name is Ashley. I completed my undergrad at McMaster University in Communications, and am now working towards a public relations certificate. I’ve also had the chance to work with some really great organizations in the field, including the Canada Border Services Agency, Bayer Inc. and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. On a more personal level, I enjoy playing sports, reading and spending time with friends. I also have a “minor” Netflix addiction that I’ve decided to make use of through the majesty of blogging. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to big time cred to the walking dead

  1. nasfu9112 says:

    I tried to stay awake and watch Season 5 of TWD! Love tho show and have been watching since Season one. However I think I ate to much Turkey on Sunday because for the life of me I couldn’t stay awake! Do you think there is too much time lag between seasons?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TWD has it’s ups and downs but I think it has one of the most masterfully created pilot’s in recent TV. It sets the tone for the series and more importantly, the season.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Walker Stalker… love it! Ha ha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

