love at first bite!

I heard a vampire joke this past weekend about “Fangsgiving” and it motivated me to write this review. I’ll spare you all a head shake and confirm that yes, the joke was even more terrible than my blog title.

I’ve always been extremely reluctant to admit that I watch The Vampire Diaries (TVD) for obvious reasons. It’s more of a guilty pleasure, and I feel like a huge cheese ball for being obsessed with a supernatural teenage drama.

However, in the wise words of Sir Aubrey Drake: YOLO.

The Vampire Diaries takes place in the fictional town of Mystic Falls, Virginia, full of supernatural beings. It’s got em’ all – from vampires and werewolves, to witches and demons. The plot line follows a normal, vulnerable and oversensitive teenage girl, Elena (Nina Dobrev), as she gets unwittingly drawn into a world of mystical chaos by the blood-sucking brothers Stefan (Paul Wesley) and Damon Salvatore (Ian Somerhalder, YUM). In addition to the angst-ridden threesome, Elena’s little brother Jeremy (Steven McQueen) and her best friends Bonnie Bennet (Kat Graham) and Caroline Forbes (Candice Accola) are involved in the plot, all experiencing a never-ending series of tumultuous events.

photo credit: vampirediaries.wikia.com

Even though TVD is currently airing its fifth season, it feels more like its eighth or ninth. In total, it’s aired over 82 hours of TV… Wow, that’s depressing.

PLEASE DON’T RIP MY HEAD OFF FOR THIS NEXT PART. I find the acting for certain characters like Elena and Damon to be, for the most part, over-the-top and cheesy. It reminds me of the acting in How I Met Your Mother, which works much better in the sitcom format.

If you like TVD, then you’ll love the new spin-off series called The Originals. Premiering in 2013, the show follows the Mikaelson siblings, Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies) and Rebekah (Claire Holt), as they aggressively work to reclaim the city that they once reigned over: New Orleans. It’s arguably better than TVD.

7.5/10 – give me a break, it’s got Ian Somerhalder in it.

About ashleysnetpicks

Hello, my name is Ashley. I completed my undergrad at McMaster University in Communications, and am now working towards a public relations certificate. I’ve also had the chance to work with some really great organizations in the field, including the Canada Border Services Agency, Bayer Inc. and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. On a more personal level, I enjoy playing sports, reading and spending time with friends. I also have a “minor” Netflix addiction that I’ve decided to make use of through the majesty of blogging. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to love at first bite!

  1. Loving the puns here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

