the gang gets reviewed

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (IASIP) is so incredibly different from all other shows that I honestly don’t even know where to begin with this one.

IASIP is an American sitcom that is written and produced by Rob McElhenney, Glenn Howerton and Charlie Day, all of whom happen to star in the show.

photo credit: imgur

For the sake of the review, I’ll keep my description of the “gang” short. The series follows a group of five egotistical, selfish, petty, ignorant, lazy, manipulating, arrogant and corrupt “friends” that own and manage a run-down, unsuccessful Irish bar in Philadelphia called Paddy’s Pub. Oh, and they’re all borderline sociopaths. Sounds interesting, right?

The depraved underachievers, Charlie (Charlie Day), Mac (Rob McElhenney), Dennis (Glenn Howerton), Dee (Kaitlin Olson) and Frank (Danny DeVito), spend their time struggling to one-up each other, breaking the law, and being all-around the most repulsive and lowest class citizens. Think I’m exaggerating? A few members of the gang even smoke crack in order to qualify for welfare. BOOM. Put that in your pipe and… Oh nevermind, too easy.

Let me backpedal a bit here; I think I might be giving you all the wrong impression. Yes, you will passionately hate all of the characters, but that doesn’t mean that their hilarious antics aren’t super rewarding to watch! I mean it. You feel like a grade A slab of person after watching even a few minutes of the group’s miserable and raunchy lives.

Premiering in 2005, the show’s tenth season is set to air in January 2015. Luckily for fans, IASIP was also renewed for an eleventh and twelfth season.

It’s a pretty big time commitment to start from scratch, but the episodes are only 22 minutes long and there are about 10 per season.

I highly, highly, highly suggest that you watch this video and get hooked on the show. Charlie, the illiterate idiot of the group, writes a play and lets the gang star in it.

8/10 – it’s like watching a couple making out in a mall; odd to watch, but you can’t look away. It’s also amazing. It probably doesn’t seem like it from the first 80 per cent of this review, but I’m a big fan.

About ashleysnetpicks

Hello, my name is Ashley. I completed my undergrad at McMaster University in Communications, and am now working towards a public relations certificate. I’ve also had the chance to work with some really great organizations in the field, including the Canada Border Services Agency, Bayer Inc. and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. On a more personal level, I enjoy playing sports, reading and spending time with friends. I also have a “minor” Netflix addiction that I’ve decided to make use of through the majesty of blogging. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

