new-age gal pals

Naturally, I took full advantage of my access to U.S. Netflix on my recent trip to Michigan and binge-watched everything and anything.

First up to bat was Life Partners – mainly because it featured a photo of Gillian Jacobs and Leighton Meester on the cover – both of whom I have major “girl crushes” on. Is that even a “hip” thing to say anymore? Is “hip” even cool to say? God, I’m so unhip.

photobucket.com

The film quickly introduces the duo as joined-at-the-hip besties Paige (Jacobs) and lesbian friend Sasha (Meester). Launching the viewer into their own little world, you can’t help but to envy their hilariously weird relationship.

Without going into too much detail and ruining the entire movie, Paige ends up meeting and dating an adorably nerdy dermatologist named Tim (who is obviously Adam Brody). Gangly, twig-like Brody becomes, quite literally, the stick wedged in the ladies’ intimate friendship. The pair struggles to balance their womance as one transcends into adulthood, while the other is stuck in life-purgatory.

I actually liked this movie far more than I expected I would. I don’t consider myself a sappy romcom kind of girl (who am I kidding… I love a good romcom), but I found there to be a good balance between mirroring real-life struggles, while maintaining a sense of humour.

What do you think? Have you seen the movie?

8/10 – If I learned one thing from Life Partners, it’s that Jennifer is a common name for lesbians.

About ashleysnetpicks

Hello, my name is Ashley. I completed my undergrad at McMaster University in Communications, and am now working towards a public relations certificate. I’ve also had the chance to work with some really great organizations in the field, including the Canada Border Services Agency, Bayer Inc. and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. On a more personal level, I enjoy playing sports, reading and spending time with friends. I also have a “minor” Netflix addiction that I’ve decided to make use of through the majesty of blogging. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

